Powered by Bravenet Bravenet Blog


A journal image has not yet been uploaded.

Subscribe to Journal

Thursday, June 15th 2006

10:17 AM

CPRS Acknowledges Excellence in Public Relations

NEWS RELEASE                                

CPRS Acknowledges Excellence in Public Relations

TORONTO, ON,(rushprnews) Thursday, June 15, 2006 – The Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) today announced the recipients of its Awards of Excellence program. Many public relations practitioners from all over Canada attended a highly successful, annual awards ceremony on Tuesday, June 13th as part of the Canadian Public Relations Conference held in Niagara Falls, Ontario this week.

The recipients of the CPRS 2006 Awards of Excellence are:

Communications Management: Elaine Trudeau, Romana Kabalin (City of Edmonton) and Godfrey Huybregts, ABC (Marcomm Works) of the City of Edmonton for “City of Edmonton Flood Prevention Strategy” (Edmonton, AB)

Communications Management: Region of Peel for “Water Smart Peel” (Brampton, ON)

Community Relations: Vanessa Greebe of the Victoria Foundation for “Make an Impact” (Victoria, BC)

Media Relations: Daniel Tisch, APR, Alison George, Kerry Collings and Kyla Thoms of Argyle Rowland Communications for “Purina Walk for Dog Guides” (Toronto, ON)

Special Events:  Judy Lewis, Michelle Veilleux, Mike Abbass and Christine Newlands of Strategic Objectives for “Cadbury Chocolate Couture Collection Fashion Show” (Toronto, ON)

Print Projects: Susan Thom of BC Housing for “Independently Healthy – Changing Housing & Care Needs for Seniors”(Vancouver, BC)

Print Projects: Susan Quinn-Mullins, Lee Rammage and Michelle Fleming of AstraZeneca Canada Inc. for “Our Success Plan: The Story Behind AstraZeneca Canada’s New Strategic Division” (Toronto, ON)

Internal Communications: David Moorcroft, Merrill Matthews, Annette Martell, Connie Colangelo, Murray Bender and Diana Lyons of Corporate Communications Team, RBC Financial Group and Matthews Insights Group Inc. for “RBC Dexia Joint Venture Communication with RBC Employees” (Toronto, ON)

Marketing Communications: Karen McCluskey, APR of the Canadian Paralympic Committee, Optimum Public Relations for “Paralympic Winter Sports Awareness Campaign – Feel the Rush” (Vancouver, BC)

Besides these Awards of Excellence, the CPRS presented its Major and Special Awards.

 The recipients of the CPRS 2006 Major Awards are:

CPRS Lamp of Service: Nancy MacLeod, APR

Philip A. Novikoff Memorial Award: Bart Mindszenthy, APR, Fellow CPRS

Emery LeBlanc Membership Achievement Award:

 under 75 members:  Canadian Public Relations Society (New Brunswick)
 over 75 members:  Canadian Public Relations Society (Toronto) Inc.

Recipients of the CPRS Special Awards are:

Don Rennie Memorial Award for Excellence in Government Public Relations: Tara Sprigg, Senior Communications Advisor of the City of Guelph for “Environment & Transportation Group Communications Plan” (Guelph, ON)

CPRS/CNW Student Award of Excellence: Derek Johnstone and Frances Gail Manlucu of the University of Western Ontario (London, ON)

Frontline Risk and Crisis Communications Student Award: Jackie Ostashek of Grant McEwan College in Edmonton, Lisa Carroll of Université Laval in Montréal and Annette Yuen of Humber College in Toronto.

The Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) is the Canadian professional association representing more than 1,600 public relations practitioners in 16 Member Societies across Canada who commit to following a Code of Professional Standards. The Society offers a program of professional accreditation in public relations (APR), professional development and education programs affiliated with various colleges and universities, a job registry, networking opportunities, annual national conference, a directory of all members and a forum for information sharing. 

Pierre Pontbriand, ARP and Guy Litalien, ARP, co-chairs of the CPRS National Awards Committee wholeheartedly thank all of the sponsors and proudly congratulate all of the finalists in the 2006 Awards program.

Photographs of the awards ceremony are available upon request.

For more information on the award criteria or interviews please contact:

Karen Dalton, APR, Executive Director
canadian Public Relations Society
4195 Dundas St. West, Suite 346
Toronto, ON M8X 1Y4
416-239-7034 or kdalton@cprs.ca



0 Comment(s).

There are no comments to this entry.

Post New Comment

No Smilies More Smilies »